Back to news

League News

2011-12 Season Round-Up

  • 10/08/12
Football image

The 2011-12 season finished on Sunday 13th May at Tavistock Community FC.

For the first time the league had competitive football for disabled women’s teams, with the introduction of a women’s league. Four teams competed throughout the season and despite some strong performances from runners up Tavistock Spirits, it was the longest established women’s disability football club in Devon, Plymouth Argyle that wrapped up their first and indeed the South West’s first ever Women’s Disability Football trophy. ROC Active Exeter picked up the fair play award voted by referees.

In the Men's Divisions, Exeter Fury saw off strong competition from Exeter City to win the Championship. Torquay Utd claimed their 2nd consectutive fair play award.

Men's League 1 saw Newton Soccability claim their first league title, and also the fair play award. Twyford Spartans held off challengers including ROC Active Exeter and Bideford, to claim runners up.

Twyford Spartans also claimed the runners up spot in League 2, however Plymouth Argyle Pilgrims won a 2nd League 2 title on the bounce. Tavistock Specials collected their first fair play award.